Wizards in Winter

Wizards in Winter

Oh to be such a thing, a wizard in the winter. Well we are nearing one of those but I feel far from a wizard at this point in time.

Great news though, I've taken a step into the world of tech and IT with a position change in my school to oversee and manage the IT department. It's super exciting to be working in the technology industry in any capacity, even if it's not utilizing what I've been learning here as of yet.

I just 'finished' working through basic js, git, and GitHub packages. I feel like a failure because I need to find so many answers elsewhere......but I guess I'm learning that's not unusual. I tend to oversimplify. There is just SO MUCH to learn isn't there? Technology is crazy!

let nameChar = ['ObiWan', 'Anakin', 'Plo-Koon', 'Count Dooku', 'Mace Windu', 'Master Yoda', 'Darth Sidious', 'General Grevious', 'Darth Maul', 'Kit Fisto', 'Rey', 'Kylo Ren']
let movie = ['A New Hope', 'The Empire Strikes Back', 'Return of the Jedi', 'The Phantom Menace', 'Attack of the Clones', 'Revenge of the Sith']
let lightsaberColor = ['Red', 'Green', 'Blue', 'White', 'Burgundy', 'Yellow']
let message = ['"May the force be with you"', '"Greetings"', '"Midichlorians guide you"', '"Farwell"', '"Goodbye"']

//Creating Character Object
let characters = {nameChar: nameChar, movie: movie, lightsaberColor: lightsaberColor, message: message}

//Selecting a Random Character. 
const randChar = () => {
    const randNum = Math.floor(Math.random()*nameChar.length)
    for (prop in characters){
        switch(prop){
            case 'nameChar':
                let namePhrase = `Your jedi/sith is: ${characters.nameChar[randNum]}!`
                console.log(namePhrase)
                break;
            case 'movie':
                let moviePhrase =  `Your jedi/sith is from the movie: ${characters.movie[randNum]}`
                console.log(moviePhrase)
                break;
            case 'lightsaberColor': 
                let saberPhrase =  `Your jedi/siths's light saber color is: ${characters.lightsaberColor[randNum]}`
                console.log(saberPhrase)
                break;
            case 'message': 
                let mesPhrase = `Your jedi/sith's message is: ${characters.message[randNum]}`
                console.log(mesPhrase)
                break;
            default:
                console.log('No character found!')

        }
    }
}

randChar()

As I sit here working through some Christmas tunes, I have one of my favorite TSO pieces come up, 'Wizards in Winter'. What a pump up that is let me tell you. My kids (7 & 4) have a whole routine that they've come up with and it's almost impossible for me not to smile thinking about their dance. They've done the same one (albeit, slightly modified over the years) for at least the last 3 years. Classic.

Thinking through the different instruments, melodies, rhythms, harmonies, and exciting intricacies that make up this complex piece, I can't help but think about how 'musical' the tech industry is too along with the learning we're doing. So many moving pieces, all equally important. Each piece needing to do their jobs well in order for the entire piece to work together. Synchronous music also connects to the synchronicity of technology. It's pretty beautiful if you ask me. (That may just be the Trans-Siberian Orchestra talking).

Taking a step tonight out of javascript and repositories and a step into web development. Looking forward to a break I suppose but also wanting to feel like I'm a 'stronger lead guitar' if you know what I mean. I suppose for now I'll have to be a strong '3rd violin' knowing that my parts are equally important and I'll be the conductor of the orchestra someday (pardon my musical puns).

Signing off for now, learning some things. Merry Christmas y'all, and a happy new year!